

Indo-French Seminar on Catalysis for Sustainability

10-13 December 2023

Vivek Polshettiwar

Professor

Department of Chemical Sciences
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai

Contact Number: +91-8452886556

E-Mail: vivekpol@tifr.res.in
Web page: www.nanocat.co.in

Prof. Vivek Polshettiwar, after his Ph.D. in 2005, worked as a postdoc in France and USA for a few years before starting his own independent group at KAUST in 2009. In 2013, he moved to TIFR, and his group is working on the development of novel nanomaterials as catalysts to combat "climate change". Nanocatalysis can help design catalysts with excellent activity, greater selectivity, and high stability. Their properties can easily be tuned by tailoring the size, shape, and morphology as well as defects and interfaces of the particular nanomaterial. He has published nearly 120 articles with an h-index 62 and around 16000 citations in reputed journals like PNAS, JACS, Nature Communications, Nature Protocol,

AngewChem, Chem. Sci., ACS Nano, ACS Catalysis, etc. He also filed 12 national

and international patent/patent applications.

He is the recipient of the prestigious ORISE Research Fellowship at US-EPA. He was awarded as Top-25 cited author in 2011 by Tetrahedron and Young Scientist Award at DSL-2012. He also received an Asian Rising Star lectureship at 15th Asian Chemical Congress (ACC), Singapore (2013), from Nobel Laureate Professor Ei-ichi Negishi. In 2015, he was admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), United Kingdom. He was awarded a Bronze medal by the Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI), India. He was awarded the prestigious Materials Research Society of India - MRSI Medal 2019. He was elected a Fellow Maharashtra Academy of Sciences in 2019. In 2020, he received Young Research Award in Nano Science & Technology from the Department of Science & Technology (DST), Gov. of India. In 2021, he was elected as a Fellow National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI). Vivek received the 2022 IUPAC-CHEMRAWN VII prize for green chemistry from IUPAC and National Prize for Research on Environmental Chemistry. In 2023, he received the Falling Walls Award in Physical Sciences.